

भारतीयप्रौद्योगिकीसंस्थान (भारतीयखनिविद्यापीठ), धनबाद Indian Institute of Technology (Indian School of Mines), Dhanbad

For Immediate Release: February 4, 2024

PRESS RELEASE

Felicitation of distinguished alumni, fete, indoor and outdoor games, inauguration of different center and general body meeting of IIT (ISM Alumni Association marks Annual Alumni Meet Basant, 2024 at IIT (ISM)

Conferment of Basant Samman2024 on distinguished Alumni and others besides presentation of special awards to seven persons including alumni marked the award distribution function of annual alumni meet of IIT (ISM) Basant 2024 held here at the Penman Auditorium of IIT (ISM) campus today.

The day also witnessed the Bhoomi Pujan for the Centenary Building of the Institute held in front of Library building; inauguration of three centres at Mining Technology Innovation Hub TEXMiN; Fete for over 200 alumni gathered at the institute at parking space near Diamond Hostel; General Body Meeting of IIT (ISM) Alumni Association; Musical Programme Mehfil held at Penman Auditorium and Star Night held at Gymkhana Ground during which renowned Bollywood Singer, Shaan enthralled audience with his sizzling performance.

The Basant Awards were presented by Prof JK Pattanayak, Director IIT (ISM) Dhanbad to Shri Arun Kumar Singh, Chairman ONGC and ONGC Group of Companies; Prof Sukumar Laik, an alumnus of 1973 batch and former Professor of Petrolum Engineering (Retired in 2017); Prof Tarkeshwar Kumar, Ex Director IIT (ISM), who graduated in Petroleum Engineering in 1977 from IIT (ISM) and later also obtained M Tech from IIT(ISM)in 1984 and Prof DC Panigrahi, another former Director of IIT (ISM) who retired in 2018.

Among the other awards presented during the occasion, Avlesh Singh (2005 batch, B Tech Mineral Engineering) was conferred with Young Alumnus Achiever Award; Sanjiv Aggarwal (1986 batch, B Tech Mining Engineering) received the Entrepreneurship Award; Rajendra Prasad Ritolia (1969 batch B Tech Mining Engineering) received Nagendra Kumar Memorial Award; Anil Kumar (1965 Batch B Tech, Petroleum Engineering) was conferred with Research and Academic Excellence Award; Shri PM Prasad, Chairman Coal India Limited was conferred Bhaskar Bhattacharjee Memorial Award and Amit Sagar Chopra (1961 Batch B Tech, Mining Engieering) with Director's Award for service to the society

Rajni Singh

Dean (Media & Branding)

Phone: (0326) 2235447, Email: dcc@iitism.ac.in